Entry #1: My time aboard the alien ship

Posted: June 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

Entry #1

My time aboard the alien ship

By UraniumC as told to JC

(JC note:  the task of editing and preparing this material from UC’s original has proven more difficult than I imagined.  His writing is so crude and unclear that it has taken multiple revisions for me just to accurately convey what he means to say.  He has, finally, approved the entry below)

Some years ago I was transported on to an alien ship.  It was over 1/2 a billion years old and built by the first and so far most sophisticated intelligent race in our galaxy.

 They had long since occupied the entire Milky Way galaxy and governed all its civilizations quietly behind the scenes.  Including ours.

 They insured that only peaceful worlds made the transition to interstellar travel.  Those that did pledged not to interfere with those still bound to their home planets.

 This race had long since passed on beyond the physical realm, but they left behind their amazing self-renewing ships.  These guarded the Milky Way from the many fierce and warlike species seeking to expand beyond their own galaxies.

 Earth, like each inhabited planet, has its own intergalactic guardian ship.  These ships were tasked with detecting, intercepting and disabling the invading fleets.

 An unshakeable rule is that each of these guardian ships is required to take on board a single individual from the planet they were charged to protect.

 In so far as I can tell, the selection of this individual is random.  At least I was never able to tell why I was chosen.

 My tour of duty, so to speak, was 524 years, 8 months, 17 days, 2 hours, 43 minutes, 54 seconds and on down to unfathomablely smaller units of time.  While a very odd number to me, it corresponded to a logically round number for them.

 Time being an entirely different thing in the depths of space; to my earth bound existence I was gone less than the blink of an eye.  Yet I retain all the memories of those journeys.  At least as well as anyone can be expect to recall the memories of 500 + years.

Comments
  1. XYZ says:

    I have a question about the time spent on the ship. He said that his stint corresponded to less time on earth than the blink of an eye. It sounds like once his time was over, a different human was used on the ship, and so on, so that there was always one person on the ship. If this is the case, there would be a huge amount of people who went through the same thing as him.

    Assume that less than the blink of an eye means 0.5 seconds. Since his time on the ship was a set and exact time, assume that all other humans spend that same amount of time on the ship when it is their turn. So that would be one person for every half a second. This is:

    2 people per second
    120 people per minute
    7,200 people per hour
    172,800 people per day
    63,072,000 people per year

    The average life expectancy on earth is now 69 years. So multiplying by 69 years:

    4,351,968 people per 69 years (per lifetime).

    Assuming that every person has no more than one stint on the plane, then – since the earth’s population is 7 billion, 62% of earth’s population would have been on the ship at some point in time.

  2. XYZ says:

    I didn’t actually put a question in that but I think you know what I meant — why aren’t there many millions of other people saying the same thing as him? Or did I misunderstand things?

    • jlcollinsnh says:

      great question X and one that also occurred to me, although I didn’t do the math as you did.

      As I recall, the issue is that in our daily lives time appears to be linear. In reality it is completely malleable, running ahead of itself and then behind and then folding back again. Even more interesting, at least to me, is his 524+ years did not overlap his life on earth.

      Confused? Yeah, me too. Like I said in “Why the Silence,” I am still trying to get a handle on all this and not sure I can….

      • Keli says:

        Mahtavaa kun jotain pientä on muuttunut joka kerta kun klikkaa itsensä tänne ;). Säätele rauhassa, kyllä se hyvä lopoutulps vielä löytyy – ei sillä etteikö tämä olisi hyvä jo nyt 🙂

      • jlcollinsnh says:

        Anteeksi, en ymmärrä

Leave a Reply

